the word Lucan in the mastheadthe word newsletter in the mastheadtransparent filler image
Published weekly
link to home page link to main Sport page page link to GAA page link to Sports round-up page link to Local news page link to Parish page link to Politics page link to Community notes page link to Schools page link to Regulars page link to Birdie page link to Letters page link to Anniversaries page link to Lost and found page link to Features page link to Local interest page link to Stories/poems page link to History page link to Archive page link to Links page

The Liffey at Lucan in 1954

<< Back to the main Local History page

From the Irish Tatler and Sketch

liffey bridge 1954

The above photo is taken from The Irish Tatler and Sketch December 1954. It was included in article on Lucan House, and is unique in that, it shows the little house along the riverbank, (behind the printing works), where the Ulster Bank and modern apartments now stand.

The 8th December 1954 is also remembered for a great flood when the Liffey ragged, and much damage was done around Lucan.

Thank you to Paul Williams for the loan of the magazine, in which there are several interesting pieces, to be covered over time Mary Mulhall